Iowa Bystander Is Published By:

IPJ Media, L.L.C.
P.O. Box 98
Des Moines, IA 50301
Phone: 515-288-7677 OR 515-770-1218

President, CEO & Publisher • Jerald Brantley, Sr.
Associate Publisher • Gaynelle Narcisse
Editor • Jonathan R. Narcisse
Sports Coordinator • Larry Cotlar
Photo Editor • Paul Smith
Photographer • Jackson Brantley
Distribution • Perseverance Narcisse
Distribution • Integrity Narcisse
Circulation & Delivery • Ray Crammond

Click here for a list of current contributors.

The mission of the Iowa Bystander is to celebrate the positive, to record accomplishment and achievement in our midst and to promote the core values that our publication has personified since its founding — faith, family, community, country.  The Iowa Bystander has been featured at the White House and Smithsonian, won numerous journalism and service awards and can be found in both our state’s leading historical tomes and our state’s foundational archives.

A Long History: The Iowa Bystander was founded in Des Moines on June 8, 1894 by William Coalson. From 1896–1922 the publisher was  John L. Thompson. In 1922, Thompson sold the newspaper to World War I veteran James B. Morris for $1,700.  In subsequent years, Morris and the paper developed close ties with the NAACP and fought the rise of the Klu Klux Klan in Iowa.  After James Morris’s death in 1977, the newspaper has switched hands several times, but it still publishes under its original motto of “Fear God, Tell the Truth, Make Money”.